PDA

View Full Version : FFXI Screenshots

Arcius
10-31-2003, 07:52 PM
Since I was asked by a couple people...here are a few. I am horrible photographer :D

1 - Carbuncle summon. It looks really funny when it does a spin kick in the air.

2 - Ifrit summon, owns.

3 - One of the special abilites Rock Worms have, some kind of whirlwind special attack.

4 - Friendly high-level Thai players ressing me. Then he killed the Ghost who had killed me in one casting of Cure :p

5 - Some temple thing. High level mages can teleport here or something.

Might post more when I have something more interesting...I'm still a newbie.

Talas
10-31-2003, 09:51 PM
Those are pretty good shots! I wish I had enough time to give it a test drive. Squaresoft has always come out with outstanding RPGs, and I'm sure this will be no exception. :)

Vinen
11-01-2003, 12:27 AM
I died 8 times in a group early afternoon on friday and was still having fun. Then some high level white mage who was passing by saw us wipe and rezzed us all and then buffed us hehe.

Zarxen
11-01-2003, 01:54 AM
Looks nice, very nice. How does it run? Do you have to have a beast of a machine to play it?

Arcius
11-01-2003, 08:18 AM
Looks nice, very nice. How does it run? Do you have to have a beast of a machine to play it?

I have an Athlon XP 2100+ (1.73 ghz), 512 MB ram, geforce 4 ti 4600. I am playing in high resolution, all details turned on and I haven't experiences any slowdown yet. The graphics engine is A LOT smoother than EQ.

You can download the FFXI Benchmark program here (http://ffxi.stratics.com/content/bench/intro.php), it will give you some idea how well it would run. I had about 3500, so it's accurate in saying you can run in high resolution easily with 3000+ score.

The scores for the low resolution mode:

Cannot run - 999: "Too Weak" PC