PDA

View Full Version : Back off, man. I'm a scientist.

Lola
02-19-2004, 10:21 AM
I heard news stories on this yesterday on NPR, but the actual report (available at the bottom) is eye-opening.

Now, I have extreme dislike for politicians of both major parties, but this report is incredible - detailing slimy behavior above and beyond what I have come to expect from both sides of the aisle. How are we letting our government get away with stuff like this?

Has anyone seen any non-spin-doctor rebuttal/response from the Repubs on this subject? I'd be interested to read it, if so.

http://www.ucsusa.org/global_environment/rsi/report.html

The 40something page report (the good stuff): http://www.ucsusa.org/global_environment/rsi/RSI_final_fullreport.pdf

Illegal
02-19-2004, 03:52 PM
After reading through that report, I can't help but wonder how much of it is as extremist as it reports the Bush administration to be.

However, that point is moot. Although the report certainly seems to paint a clear picture that the White House's interests are directly conflicting with those of the U.S. scientific community, and by association the people's interest, the simple fact that it has the power to intervene so directly -- for whatever reasons -- and is perfectly willing to use it at its own discretion, is just plain scary ( and I don't scare easily, especially when it comes to politics ).

That is probably as much as I can say without plunging headfirst into my personal opinions on the Bush administration. And since I don't fancy getting a house call from The Man in the middle of the night, I think I'll stop there ~

Aalenu
02-19-2004, 07:47 PM
Bah, look at their board of directors, bunch of no-name, self proclaimed scientists.

You going to listen to them over dubya? I mean, come on, dubya got a B in 'Physics for non-science majors'...the second time through at least.

Aal

Myztlee
02-19-2004, 07:52 PM
I'm surprised anyone is surprised.

Vidmer
02-20-2004, 09:26 AM